AFRICA/ANGOLA - Resignation of the Bishop of Ondjiva and appointment of successor

Wednesday, 23 November 2011

Vatican City (Agenzia Fides) - The Holy Father Benedict XVI on November 23, 2011 accepted the resignation from the pastoral governance of the Diocese of Ondjiva (Angola), presented by Archbishop Fernando Guimaraes Kevanu, in accordance with canon 401 § 1 of the Code of Canon Law. The Holy Father appointed Rev. Pio Hipunyati of the clergy of Ondjiva, Professor of Latin at the Minor and Superior Seminary of the Catholic Mission of Omupanda as Bishop of the Diocese of Ondjiva (Angola).
Rev. Pio Hipunyati was born on November 14, 1964 at Ounonge, Onamakunde City Hall, in the civil Province of Kunene (Angola). After completing his elementary studies in Catholic schools in the Dioceses of Lubango and Ondjiva, he then did the preparatory course at the Sikufinde Seminary at the current Archdiocese of Lubango. From 1988 to 1991 he successfully completed the Philosophy and Theology courses at the Major Seminary of the Sacred Heart of Jesus of the Archdiocese of Luanda, then received the diaconal Ordination on July 5, 1998 and the priestly ordinationon December 5, 1998, and is incardinated in the Diocese of Ondjiva. After ordination, he has held the following positions: 1999-2002: Superior of the Catholic Mission of Omupanda and Spiritual Director of the Propedeutical Seminary of the Immaculate Heart of Mary in the Diocese of Ondjiva; 1998-2002: Treasurer of the Diocese; 2002-2006 : Seminarians’ Teacher at his diocese who were studying in Tolentino, Italy; 2006-2011: Studies at the Portuguese Catholic University, where he obtained a Licentiate in Canon Law and Master's degree in Law, since 2011: Superior of the Catholic Mission of Omupanda and Professor of Latin at the Minor Seminary of lmmaculate Heart of Mary, in Omupanda.
The Diocese of Ondjiva (1970), is a suffragan of the Archdiocese of Lubango. It has an area of 83,900 square kilometers and a population of 1,003,280 inhabitants, of whom 573,459 are Catholics. There are 14 parishes, 34 priests (28 diocesan and 6 religious ), 64 nuns and 24 major seminarians. (SL) (Agenzia Fides 23/11/2011)