ASIA/INDIA - Resignation of the Bishop of Gwalior, and appointment of successor

Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Vatican City (Agenzia Fides) - On 18 October 2016 the Holy Father accepted the resignation from the pastoral governance of the diocese of Gwalior, India, presented by His Exc. Mgr. Joseph Kaithathara. The Holy Father appointed rev. Fr. Thennatt Thomas, S.A.C., Pastor and President of the Pastoral Commission of the Province as Bishop of Gwalior.
Rev. Fr. Thomas Thennatt, S.A.C., was born on November 26, 1953, in Koodalloor, in the Diocese of Kottayam. He belongs to the Syro-Malabar faithful group called Canaanites. In 1969 he began his studies at the Minor Seminary of Pallottigiri in Trivandrum, in Kerala. He completed his priestly formation in S.F.S. College (1971-1974), carrying out the novitiate in the Society of Apostolic Life (Pallottini) in the years 1974-1975 in Nilya, Bangalore, and made his solemn Profession on May 31, 1975. He was ordained a priest on October 21, 1978.
Since his ordination he has served the following roles: Chaplain in the parish, Diocese of Amravati (1978-1980); Chaplain in the parish, Diocese of Eluru (1980-1981); Studies for a Licentiate in theology in the Seminary of Poona (1981-1983); Parish priest in St. Anthony parish of in Mudfort, Archdiocese of Hyderabad (1984-1987); Director of the Commission on Youth and Young Catholic Student/Young Students' Movement (YCS/YSM), families and the laity of the Archdiocese of Hyderabad (1987-1991); Pastor of Pushpanagar, Diocese of Indore (1991-1993); Regional Director for the laity and families, and for the Small Christian Communities (S.C.C.) in Madhya Pradesh in Chhattisgarh (1993-1998); Rector of Khrist Premalaya Theologate, Ashta, and Director of the Regional Commission of Education (1998-2008); Consultor of the Congregation for the Province of Nagpur (2002-2008); Pastor in Ishgar, Diocese of Jhabua, President of the Conference of Religious in India (C.R.I.), Member of the College of Consultors, Director of the Commission for the Laity, families and Small Christian Communities (S.C.C.) (2008-2012);since 2012, parish priest in Mankapur, Archdiocese of Nagpur, Member of the Christian Life Commission, of the group of national resources of the Small Christian Communities (S.C.C.), President of the Pastoral Commission of the Province. (SL) (Agenzia Fides 18/10/2016)