AMERICA/ECUADOR - Resignation of the Apostolic Vicar of Aguarico and appointment of successor

Monday, 28 August 2017

Vatican City (Agenzia Fides) - On 2 August 2017, Pope Francis accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the Apostolic Vicariate of Aguarico, (Ecuador), presented by His Excellency Jesús Esteban Sádaba Pérez, O.F.M. Cap., and appointed as Apostolic Vicar of Aguarico Fr. José Adalberto Jiménez Mendoza, O.F.M. Cap., Vice Minister Provincial of the Order in Ecuador, assigning him the titular see of Ubaba.
The new Apostolic Vicar was born on 23 June 1969 in San Palcido, in the diocese of Portoviejo (Ecuador). He studied philosophy and theology in Cuenca (1990-1996), obtaining a Licentiate in Theology from the University of Azuay. He subsequently studied psychology at the Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja, specializing in systematic psychology in Madrid (2012-2014). He also obtained a Master’s degree in terapia familiar sistematica y de pareja in Salamanca and another in terapia humanista in Madrid. He gave his first vows on 15 August 1990 and his perpetual vows on 14 August 1996 in Guayaquil. He was ordained a priest in the Cathedral of Portoviejo on 16 May 1997.
Since ordination he has held the following offices: 1997-2000: vice Master of the post-novitiate and parish vicar in Cuenca; 2000-2003: guardian of the Fraternity, director of postulands, coordinator of the Colegio San Francisco, and director of the Fundación Nuestros Hijos (Ibarra); 2003-2005: Master of novices (Portoviejo); 2005-2008: vice Minister Provincial of the Capuchin Order in Ecuador and president of the Capuchins in America (Quito); 2008-2011: vice Minister Provincial of the Capuchin Order in Ecuador; 2014-2017: vice Minister Provincial of the Capuchin Order in Ecuador. Since 2016: vice President of CER (Conferencia Ecuatoriana de Religiosos)
The Apostolic Vicariate of Aguarico was erected in 1984, has an area of 22,000 sq km and a population of 171,184 inhabitants, of whom 143,827 are Catholics. There are 19 priests (4 diocesan, 15 religious), 20 brothers, 43 nuns, and 4 major seminarians. (SL) (Agenzia Fides, 28/08/2017)