VATICAN - Among the new Cardinals, 6 are Archbishops in mission territories

Monday, 10 October 2016 pope   year of mercy   local churches

Vatican City (Agenzia Fides) - At the Angelus yesterday, Sunday, October 9, the Holy Father Francis announced the creation of 13 new Cardinals. A Consistory will be held on the 19 of November. They also include an Archbishop and two Bishop Emeritus "who have distinguished themselves in their pastoral service", and a presbyter, "who gave a clear Christian witness".
"They come from 11 Countries - the Pope said – and this expresses the universality of the Church which announces and bears witness to the Good News of God's Mercy in every corner of the earth. The inclusion of the new Cardinals in the diocese of Rome, also manifests the indissoluble bond between the See of Peter and the particular Churches spread throughout the world. On Sunday 20 November, Solemnity of Christ the King, the Holy Year Extraordinary Mercy will conclude, I will concelebrate Mass with the new Cardinals, with the College of Cardinals, with the Archbishops, Bishops and Presbyters".
Among the new Cardinals six are Archbishops of territories dependent on the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples: His Exc. Mgr. Dieudonné Nzapalainga, C.S.Sp., Archbishop of Bangui (Central African Republic); His Exc. Mgr. Patrick D'Rozario, C.S.C., Archbishop of Dhaka (Bangladesh); His
Exc. Mgr. Maurice Piat, Archbishop of Port-Louis (Mauritius); His Exc. Mgr. John Ribat, M.S.C., Archbishop of Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea).
Two others who are of non-voting age due to their notable service to the Church have been nominated: His Exc. Mgr. Anthony Soter Fernandez, Archbishop Emeritus of Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) and His Exc. Mgr. Sebastian Koto Khoarai, O.M.I, Bishop Emeritus of Mohale's Hoek (Lesotho). (SL) (Agenzia Fides 10/10/2016)