ASIA/HONG KONG - Four new priests and a deacon to celebrate the 800th anniversary of the Dominicans

Friday, 10 June 2016 local churches   missionary animation   missionary institutes  

Hong Kong (Agenzia Fides) - In 2016 the Dominicans celebrate the eighth centenary of the confirmation of the Order by Pope Honorius III, and four priests and a deacon of the Chinese Dominican province of "Our Lady of the Rosary" were ordained in Hong Kong.
As reported to Fides by Kung Kao Po, newsletter of the diocese of Hong Kong, the four priests are: a Chinese from mainland China, a Korean and two Burmese. The ordination was presided by Cardinal John Tong Hon, Bishop of Hong Kong, during a solemn liturgy celebrated on May 29 in the Dominican convent. The liturgy was concelebrated by His Exc. Mgr. Stephen Tjephe, Bishop of Loikaw, the country of origin of the two Burmese, Fr. Javier Gonzalez, a Dominican provincial superior, and many priests. the Dominican Third Order was also present, which today has abound thirty active members in evangelism and social service.
Cardinal Tong highlighted the missionary characteristic of the Rosary province, which includes China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Macao and some Asian countries.
The Order of Friars Preachers (O.P.), known as the Dominicans, began its mission in China in January 1631. In 1650 the Chinese Luo Wen Zao (Gregorio Lopez) entered the Dominican convent in Manila. Subsequently he was consecrated Apostolic Vicar of Nanking (now Nan Jing) and was the first Bishop of Chinese origin. The Dominicans arrived in Taiwan in 1859, considered the first evangelists of the island, and Hong Kong in 1861. To date, Hong Kong has always been considered the basis of the Far Eastern province. (NZ) (Agenzia Fides 10/06/2016)